Places to visit in Sri Lanka

Cultural Triangle
Ancient sites, Ruins , Pilgrim

Sri Lanka existing as a Buddhist originated land, contributes three main Buddhist cities to the cultural triangle: Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, and Kandy which are ancient, historical cities aged over 2000 years and have once served as Kingdoms during different reigns. City of Anuradhapura, the 4th century capital, includes the very famous Sigiriya rock fortress with the frescoes, and the historic Dambulla cave temples. City of Polonaruwa, the 8th century capital, includes the very ancient monastery at Ritigale, Mihintale the birthplace of Buddhism, and many other UNESCO World Heritage archeological sites. City of Kandy, the last Royal Kingdom, includes the iconic; Daladamaligawa (Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic), Royal Botanical Garden and many other scenic sites; which are connected with religion or culture. The customs in Kandy are the most prominent among the rest around the country.